top of page


Alias Metal to Infinity_final.jpg

Alias was formed by guitarist- Mark Severns (Tyger Tyger, Jeff Austin), drummer- Phil Arnt, singer – Tony Wise (Crimson Glory, Tyger Tyger) and bassist- Dirk Van Tilborg (Attakk, Crimson Glory, Kamelot) in 1984 in Sarasota, Florida. The musicians joined forces from local bands Crimson Glory and Livewire.


The group spent most of 1984 and 1985 playing clubs, writing music and recording their first demo in June of that year. The demo quickly established the band in the worldwide metal underground through its network of magazine, fanzines, tape traders and radio stations. In particular, radio stations in the US and Europe spiritedly supported the band leading Alias to sign with TNT’s manager and great interest from several record companies. That year Alias also contributed “Prisoner of Dreams” to a New Renaissance Records compilation album.


In 1986, Len Jarrell (Surgeon, Unleashed Power) joined as vocalist and the band contributed “Authority” to World Metal Records’ “Iron Tyrants II” album. Alias spent the rest of 1986 recording more music and performing throughout the Southeast. That year also saw the band appear in mainstream metal publications such as Kerrang!, Metal Forces, Metal Hammer and Aardshock America.


In early 1987, Alias signed with US-based Grudge Records and recorded their debut self-titled album. With guest vocals on three tracks by Powersurge vocalist James ‘Jimbo’ Marra, the album was released on August 14, 1987. To celebrate the release of the album, Alias headlined a concert sponsored by 24-hour music video channel V-32. The band spent the remainder of 1987 and 1988 touring in support of the album where they headlined clubs and opened larger venues for such bands as Ace Frehley and White Lion. During this time, the band also received many favorable reviews in such publications as Hit Parader, Rock Scene and Music Connection.


In 1989, Alias returned to Telstar Studios with new vocalist Carl Hayden to record their highly-anticipated follow-up, “Metal To Infinity”. During 1989, the band also toured and produced several music videos, which received airplay on MTV, College Satellite Network, Much Music, Laser25 and V-32. “Metal To Infinity” was released on October 1, 1989 in the US and Europe. The band continued until 1990 when the members went their separate ways to pursue other musical interests.


In 1994, RTN Records re-released “Metal To Infinity” in Europe, Asia and South America. The package included several unreleased live recordings of the band from 1989.


On January 14, 2010, Retrospect Records released a digitally re-mastered version of the bands self-titled debut and the band reunited with vocalist Len Jarrell to perform at the 2011 Rocklahoma Festival.

Anchor 1
bottom of page